Students Council


A Students Council is formed for the the collective interest and welfare of the students. “The Students Welfare Committee” is renamed as students council. The council meets once in two months and on the first day of the month (on the next day, if first day is a holiday) regularly. The council is composed of both teachers and
students. The Principal is the ex-officio President of this body. Dr Benudhar Parhi works as the convener. The council attempts to resolve both disciplinary and academic issues raised by the staff members and students. The lecturers select minimum two boys and two girls from each class as members to this council. These students represent the student community of the college and bring the problems of students to the attention of this council. Likewise, two lecturers from each Department, on the basis of seniorty are selected as members
to this body. Apart from this the Advisory Committee Comprises Four senior lecturers. The other Extension serices wings (N.C.C., N.S.S, YRC, Scout &Guide, Sports Committee) also have their representatives in this council. The officers in charge of these wings the superintendents of Mens’ Hostels, Women’s Hostel and the Engineer are also the invited members of this council. The students council is continuously putting its efforts to solve the problems of the students quickly and maintain discipline in the campus.

13A. Composition:
The SWC shall comprise :
i) The Principal as Chairman, Ex-officio;
ii) One of the senior teachers nominated by the Principal to be the Vice-Chairman of the SWC;
iii) Three teachers from each faculty to be nominated by the Principal provided that one third of them shall be lady teachers;
iv)Three students from each class of different faculties to be nominated by the Principal on the basis of merit in the field of academics, sports and other extra curricular activities provided that at least one third of total student members shall be women;
v) NCC, NSS YRC Officers, Rover/Ranger Leaders, PET and Superintendents & Deputy Superintendents of all hostels as exofficio members.The Chairman shall act as the Director, Students’ Welfare (DSW)
and Secretary to the Committee.
13 B. Term:
The term for the student members shall be one year or till they continue to be the students of the College, whichever is earlier and two years for others. In case of nominations made under
(ii) above, the members shall remain as such for two years or till they continue as members of the staff of the College whichever is earlier.
13C. Functions
With the objective to identify and encourage creative talents,inculcate a spirit of discipline, leadership and social awareness,promote physical and mental development among students and to provide basic amenities, the SWC shall
i) conduct competitions in creative, cultural, literary, sports and general awareness activities;
ii) arrange symposia and seminars on topics of local, national and international interest;
iii) organise Social Welfare Activities and recommend names of needy students to the FC for financial assistance;
iv)ensure cleaning and maintenance of buildings, toilets, garden,electrical fittings, provision of sufficient portable water in the College/Hostel and make available such utility services as Canteen, First Aid Centre, Information Bureau, Post Office and Bank;
v) take up such other activities as shall be approved by the G.B.
13D. Meeting:
The Meetings of the SWC shall be held as and when required and all meetings shall be convened by the DSW – Secretary in consultation with the Chairman. Fifty per cent of total members shall constitute the quorum.